Ian Young elected as the new Chair of JCTLM


At its recent meeting at the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) in Sèvres near Paris the Joint Committee for Traceability in Laboratory Medicine (JCTLM) elected Professor Ian Young (UK) as its Chair for two years with effect from January 2019. Professor Young succeeds Professor Gary Myers (US) who has completed his second two-year term of office. 

Professor Young (pictured left) is the Professor of Medicine at Queens University Belfast and Chief Scientific Advisor to the Department of Health, Northern Ireland. He is the current President of the Association for Clinical Biochemistry & Laboratory Medicine (ACB) in the UK. As a former Chair of the IFCC Scientific Division Ian is well acquainted with the work of JCTLM.

Professor Myers (pictured right) worked for the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) in Atlanta and then as a staff member for the AACC. He is a former Secretary of the IFCC Scientific Division and the current Chair of the International Council for the Harmonization of Clinical Laboratory Results (ICHCLR). During his term as JCTLM Chair he managed a large expansion in membership and a greater awareness of the importance of JCTLM as a driver of accurate result for patient care.

On an historical note the handover is taking place in front of a vase that was created in 1872 by the National Manufacture of Ceramics at Sèvres, on the orders of the President of the French Republic, as a token of gratitude for the work of the members of the International Commission of the Metre.

Back to news